Jingle Bells 2017

Saturday, 1st December 2017

jingle bells 2017

There were 17 MSB athletes taking part in the Jingle Bells 2017 5k race put on by our neighbours Donore Harriers. The fastest 5k race in Ireland with a flat start and a downhill finish.

Cold but very good conditions made for some very good times. John Coghlan was the first MSBer over the line in 4th place overall and third in his category with Shane Healy 11th overall and first place in the M45 category. David Troy running in the M20 category ran a brilliant PB of 16:16 to finish 45th overall and 10th in the category

Sean Mac Seoin and Dave Carroll finished in a great fourth place in their respective M45 and M50 categories and MSB dominated the M45 section with five out of the top 12.

Our two junior athletes were not chip-timed but Sean Og Mac Seoin (U15) ran a superb PB of around 18:05 and was probably the first U16 over the line with Louie Woodger (U13) crossing the line in a very good time of 19:33

In the women's race Sarah Fay clocked 19:15 and Emer O'Leary also got under 20 minute barrier for the first time in a while with 19:38.

There was some confusion in the team race with MSB men's team initially put in fourth place and then thought to have been in first place due to one of our athletes not being counted and combined times being used. However the timing company had made two errors here by firstly using combined times instead of the usual placings method and missing out one of our athletes. So our men's team achieved a very good third place overall and our ladies team a very creditable 6th. Team results below

MSB results are as follows and full results are here:

Pos. Name Cat. Cat. Pos. Chip Time
4 John Coghlan MS 3 14:36
11 Shane Healy M45 1 15:19
45 David Troy M20 10 16:16
77 Seán Mac Seoin M45 4 17:04
118 Alan King M45 8 17:49
123 Dave Carroll M50 4 17:51
? Seán Og Mac Seoin M15 ? 18:05
141 Mel Hilliard M45 9 18:12
158 Mark Woodger M45 12 18:31
199 Sarah Fay FS 16 19:15
? Louie Woodger M13 ? 19:33
236 Eimear O'Leary FS 20 19:38
237 Thomas O'Neill M55 9 19:39
295 Jason Murray M40 35 20:35
296 Caoimhe Kilroy F35 5 20:43
342 Tim Kilroy M40 42 21:31
347 Iveta Adamova FS 34 21:33

Men's Team Results

jb team

Women's Team Results

 jb team L