Christmas Races 2018

Sunday, 23rd December 2018






The 2018 MSB Christmas Races took place on Sunday, 23rd December with three races for adults, U14 and above and U13 and below. All races are handicap style races with a staggered start based on ability (meaning everyone has a chance to win).

There are three races:

  • Doyle Cup - Adults and Older Juniors - 6 Mile Cross Country - Guest runners are welcome
  • Robert Foley Shield - U14s and Above Age Group - 2 or 3 Mile Cross Country
  • Sheila Brennan Trophy - U13s and Below Age Group - 1 Mile Cross Country

There was huge participation in the Sheila Brennan Trophy race and Matthew Keane ran a great race retaining his 2017 title

In the Robert Foley Shield there was a close race with the handicapped times working out very well with the finishers crossing the finish line in a minute of each other. Louie Woodger got his name on the trophy for the first time along with posting the fastest time (11:23) and Emily Bolton was the fastest girl (11:57).

In the adult race there were some 17 starters for the coveted Doyle Cup. Kieran Brennan ran a superb race over the 6-mile course to win the race, Kate O'Neill was second and first lady finisher with Jason Murray in third. Fastest male was Scott Fagan in an unbelievable 32:40 and fast lady was Catherina Mullen in 35:37

Thanks to all those who organised the races from setting up the course, sorting out the handicaps, setting up the gazebo, providing refreshments, taken photographs and recorded finishing places and times. There's a huge amount of work that goes into these events that often goes unnoticed to thanks to all those who have helped out throughout 2018

Full adult race results are as follows:

  • 1 Kieran Brennan 38:25
  • 2 Kate O'Neill 41:20
  • 3 Jason Murray 41:48
  • 4 Scott Fagan 32:40
  • 5 Paul Kelly 37:25
  • 6 Bernard Rennick 42:40
  • 7 Catherina Mullen 35:37
  • 8 John McMenamin 35:56
  • 9 Salmandan Madkour 34:04
  • 10 Kenny McAndrew 36:07
  • 11 Sarah Fay 41:09
  • 12 Alan King 38:28
  • 13 Gerry Quinn 44:30
  • 14 Padraig Keane 43:48
  • 15 Mel Hilliard 38:51
  • 16 Simon Madden 39:30 
  • 17 Liam Costello 43:22